Querying

blog8

It has been a month since I started querying. It started after an agent on twitter announced she would critique query letters if sent by the end of that day. So naturally I gravitated towards it since I had just completed my first two novels and was nervous about jumping in.

Preparing

Beforehand, I started by searching for all the advice I could find on the process of querying, writing the perfect letter, and synopsis. I came across a lot of useful advice and incorporated it into my query letter. Then, I had a few friends read over it and tell me if they got the gist of the story. Most of their feedback was helpful as far as them finding vagueness in my description or needing more clarity in certain areas. Although, I doubted some of their commentary because maybe they were holding back on what they truly thought because they didn’t want to hurt my feelings. But I tried to stay positive and trust they gave me the advice that was most useful and not just what I wanted to hear.  After the tireless process I was ready.

Querying

April 1, 2016  I sent off my first query letter. It’s bad enough I’m trying to query one novel, but two makes double the trouble. I had to pick between the two so I chose my second novel. In the meantime, I took my mind off of that first query and returned to editing, writing and preparing for #dvpit. I landed a few favorites during #dvpit, so three weeks later I sent off a batch of queries plus some more.

Rejection

This would not be a proper query story if I didn’t have the rejection especially the form rejection. Like all authors I received the Dear Author and Dear Daniela and then you finish the rest. My first was April 20, 2016 about 30 minutes after sending it I got the note. It stung somewhat, but not too much because I prepared myself. As someone who has perfectionist tendencies and a struggle with the fear of failure I read tons of positive blogs about how to cope so I wouldn’t become anxious. I just saved the first in an email folder named rejection. It didn’t take long for another to come in a couple of days later for my other novel, then another. I got two more today. I have to admit, it’s frustrating not knowing what exactly is going wrong with the novels. Is it the query letter? The manuscript itself? I really don’t know, but I am building thick skin. The most useful letter I received was the first one I sent. The agent explained she declined because of the market I’m writing in is not one she represents.

Moving Forward

For now I have 2 for my first novel skepticism and 3 for my second novel Volatile. That’s right, I’m keeping score. All have been form rejections thus far. For now, since I’m waiting to hear back or not hear back… from agents I won’t do much to the manuscript itself, she would critique query letters if sent by the end of that day. So naturally I gravitated towards it.

Preparing

Beforehand I started by looking up all the advice I could find on the process of querying, writing the perfect letter, and synopsis. I came across a lot of useful advice that incorporated into my query letter. Then had a few friends read over it and tell me if they go the gist of the story. Most feedback was helpful although, I doubted it somewhat because I felt maybe they were holding back on what they truly thought because they didn’t want to hurt my feelings. After the tireless process I was ready.

Querying

April 1, 2016  I sent off my first query letter. It’s bad enough I’m trying to query one novel but two makes double the trouble. I had to pick between the two so I chose my second novel. In the meantime I took my mind off of that first query and returned to editing, writing and preparing for #dvpit. I landed a few favorites so three weeks later I sent off a batch of queries plus some more.

Rejection

This would not be a proper query story if I didn’t have the rejection especially the form rejection. Like all authors I received the Dear Author and Dear Daniela and then you finish the rest. My first was April 20, 2016 about 30 minutes after sending it I got the note. It stung somewhat but not too much because I prepared myself. As someone who has perfectionist tendencies and a struggle with the fear of failure I read tons of positive blogs about how to cope. I just saved the fist in a email folder named rejection. It didn’t take long for another to come in a couple of days latter for my other novel, then another. I got two more today. I have to admit while it’s frustrating not knowing what exactly is going wrong with my novels. Is it the query letter? My manuscript itself? I really don’t know, but I am building thick skin. The most useful letter I received was the first one I sent and the agent declined because of the market I’m writing in.

Moving Forward

For now I have 2 for my first novel skepticism and 3 for my second novel Volatile. That’s right I’m keeping score. All have been form rejections thus far. For now since I’m waiting to hear back or not hear back… from agents I won’t to  edit the manuscripts too much yet since I don’t have enough feedback whether it needs severe help or not. Hearing from 2 or 3 agents each in simple form rejection isn’t enough say it’s the writing itself. I’ll continue to produce more query letters. Maybe I’m just not choosing my agents well enough? Or I’m selling the novels, short with the way I’m summarizing the novel. Who knows? but I will wait and see. For now I will keep you updated.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

